• The Attic

  • The Filing Cabinet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

Sunday Scrappin’

Sunday Scrappin’

Because sometimes I find it difficult in my frantic chaotic normal life with two small children to sit down and actually write a new blog entry, I am relying on others to supply the theme for me as often as possible!  : )  Thus, I am joining Amy over at Tiny Blessings in her Sunday Scrappin’ carnival.  The idea here is to share your craft-related “TA-DAs” for the week as well as your “TO-DOs.” 

I have been a scrapbooker for almost nine years now.  The two things that have changed my scrapbooking the most are having children and using a digital camera.  Now I have more pictures than I could possibly EVER scrapbook, so I pick and choose what I put into my albums (focusing mainly on day to day stuff, like funny things the girls say, etc.) and I scrapbook only a fraction of the pictures I take.  However, the one scrapbooking goal I have consistently held for myself since I’ve had children is having an up-to-date birthday album each time a birthday rolls around.  Well, Louise’s second birthday party was yesterday, so this week I was racing the clock to get her album finished.  I like to keep the cards the girls receive for their birthdays and include them in their album, so this is what I came up with this week for Louise’s album:

Louise’s birthday card page

We have had three new families move into our neighborhood in the past few weeks, and thanks to Meredith at Like Merchant Ships, I’ve decided to be hospitable and welcome these new families to our neighborhood.  I baked M&M cookies on Wednesday and made these cards on Thursday:

Welcome Cards

I used scraps of Cosmo Cricket paper and Close to My Heart alphabet stamps on these small cards.  However, we have had a difficult time finding time as a family to take these small gifts around to our new neighbors because of last week’s birthday festivities, so it looks like I’ll be baking something else to take to them this week.  Steady Eddie hasn’t seemed to mind eating the M&M cookies!

 As far as TO-DOs for this week, I would be thrilled to finish Louise’s second year in terms of pictures I’ve already printed from before her birthday.  I have at least three more layouts to do.  This looks like it will be a busy week, though, with church and family commitments, so I’ll have to see if I can fit in some scrappin’ time.

Amy asks this question on this week’s Sunday Scrappin’ blog:

What is your favorite scrappy craft– scrapping, stamping, card making, or something else?

The answer to this question is probably obvious:  scrapping is my favorite craft, ‘though I occasionally dabble in cardmaking.  I feel much more inspired and energized when there are pictures and stories involved, though, so I mainly stick to scrappin’.

If you’re a crafter, head on over to Sunday Scrappin’ to share your TA-DAs and TO-DOs!

2 Responses

  1. Thanks for joining in the fun at Sunday Scrappin!

    I love that card pocket page. I may have to borrow that idea.

    I’m jealous of your yearly albums… I’m not even caught up on baby albums! 🙂

  2. […] be one of the main things I wrote about and shared here.  However, I think I’ve only had one other scrapbook-related post.  I have been scrapbooking some, but the pages have not been ones […]

Leave a Reply

